Judicial Branch

As indicated on the Connecticut’s Judicial Branch’s website Connecticut’s Judicial system is broken down into four courts, Supreme, Appellate, Superior and Probate.

Supreme Court

ct_supreme_court231 Capitol Ave.
Hartford, CT 47581


Appellate Court

ct_appellate_court231 Capitol Ave
Hartford, CT 06106


Probate Court

Connecticut Probate Court, in addition to overseeing decedents’ estates and trusts, it oversees a wide range of sensitive issues affecting children, the elderly, persons with intellectual disability, and individuals with psychiatric disabilities.  For assistance with both the traditional aspects of Probate as well wider range of issues, please contact Gugliotta & Ponzini directly.

Superior Court

Hears civil, criminal, family and juvenile matters the descriptions provided within this webpage come directly from the CT Judicial Branch’s webpage, and are provided sole for your education.

Civil Division

Hears cases in which someone is being sued to protect civil, personal or property rights. Typical cases include automobile or personal accidents, landlord-tenant disputes, product or professional liability disputes, and disputed contracts.

In most civil cases, the accusing party (the plaintiff) wants money damages (judgment or award) from the other party (the defendant). Cases may be decided by a judge, a jury or by a non-judicial officer, depending on the nature of the claim and the preference of the parties. Landlord-tenant cases and small claims cases are usually heard in geographical area courts. Administrative appeals and civil jury and non-jury cases are usually heard in judicial district courthouses. Tax cases are heard in a special tax session. Information on Special Sessions.
The Civil Division is divided into five parts or types:

Administrative Appeals;
Civil Jury;
Civil Non-Jury;
Landlord-Tenant, including evictions (called summary process);
Small Claims

Criminal Division

Hears cases where the state is prosecuting a person (the defendant) who is accused of breaking the law. The state is represented by a state’s attorney.

There are three kinds of criminal cases, depending on the severity of the offense:

Crimes which include felonies – punishable by prison sentences more than one year – and misdemeanors – punishable by prison sentences of one year or less;
violations which include motor vehicle cases punishable by a fine only; and,
Infractions where a fine may be paid by mail without requiring a court appearance (for example, traffic tickets).
All criminal cases but the most serious ones are heard in geographical area courts around the state.

Family Division

Hears cases involving juveniles and family relationships. Typical cases include divorce, child custody, child support, relief from abuse (temporary restraining orders), juvenile delinquency, child abuse and neglect, and termination of parental rights. Most family cases are heard in judicial district courthouses.

Cases involving juveniles are heard in juvenile court facilities, for more information pertaining to the juvenile court facilities please contact Gugliotta & Ponzini directly.

Juvenile Matters

I a special subdivision of Superior Court designed to protect the rights of children, family relationships and confidentiality. There are twelve Juvenile Courts state-wide. All records of juvenile matters are confidential.

All juvenile matters cases either involve care of the minor child or the child’s behavior.

Cases in juvenile court include: termination of parental rights; emancipation of a minor; delinquency; neglected or uncared for children and youth; families with service needs (FWSN).